Reflections of Salvation

My ears do scarce believe the words sublime,
That Christ did come to earth from heav’n on high,
To take on lowly flesh and bear my sin,
And sacrificed His life on Calvary.

“Why would the Judge of all stoop down to earth,
Performing such an act of wondrous love?”
The recollections of my sin and shame
Did make my spirit doubt and fear and wane.

But providence and God’s word pleased to meet,
In tender love to soothe my fears indeed.
Through hymns and songs, through preaching and His Word,
He did my fears assuage, and joy conferred.

My Saviour! Didst Thou shed Thy blood for me?
That ceaseless stream which cleanses all my sin?
Didst Thou in death appease God’s holy wrath,
And ope to sinners heaven’s only path?

My Saviour! Thou didst die at Calvary,
Obedient to Thy Father, willingly.
O, knowing I cannot God’s wrath appease,
Thou barest all my sin in place of me.

My Saviour! I scarce take it in:
That wondrous love Thou hast for me.
Let all within my soul sing endless praise,
And every member serve Thee all my days.

Leave a comment