Godly Frames

If I should start my thoughts elsewhere but God,
I soon will wander far from Christ my Lord.
Without an anchor firm to hold my soul,
Without Thy brilliant light my path to show,
I soon would call Thy holy truth as sin,
And term all hideous sin as truth to me.

But let me start from Thee, O solid Rock,
And when I ponder well the ways of God,
Thy holiness would make all sin so dark,
Thy blessed Word would truth and falsehood part.
Thou wouldest set my thoughts in godly frame,
To term both truth and sin by proper name.

Without a clearer knowledge of my Lord,
To see all things in Christ as I daily ought,
I would not trust and take Thy ways so pure,
Nor in the day of storm and test endure.
So by Thy grace, show more of Thee to me,
That I may grow and live each day for Thee.

 

Leave a Reply

