A Poem of Praise to God who Preserves His Sheep

Thank I now my God for His preserving Hand upon His sheep. The more I think upon it, the more I am greatly amazed at His wondrous providence. Indeed, all things work together for good to them that love God, to them that are the called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28). This then is my praise to Him for His marvellous work.


My gracious, loving God,
with words a healing balm,
hast thou so kindly saved
Thy sheep from grievous harm?

By providence, my God,
with Thy preserving arm,
has led all things for good,
to keep Thy sheep from harm.

By providence, my God,
though all may now seem calm,
has plucked Thy hapless sheep
from grievous harms that come.

No wicked wolf shall stand,
who mean His sheep great harm.
They soon shall know His sheep
are kept safe in His arms.

Rejoice, my soul, and praise
with song and glorious psalm!
For Christ has saved His sheep
from pain and grievous harm.

Leave a Reply

